So… This is a thing now.

I STARTED A YOUTUBE CHANNEL!

There is a chance that if you’re reading this post, you already knew that but I had to start the post that way for the handful of people who solely follow my blog – shout out to that handful btw, I barely use this thing, lol. That’s about to change though, promise!

This is something I’ve been considering and planning (and procrastinating on) for months now. Today I finally dropped my first video and it feels good. I’m super excited to really get started with this whole YouTube thing and see where it takes me.

My first video is an introduction to my channel and what to expect from it in the form of a tag video – The New Youtuber Tag! (If you’re unfamiliar with what the hell a tag video is, no worries, I give a quick and easy explanation in the video)

Believe it or not, despite the length of the video, I didn’t answer every question in the tag. In fact, I didn’t even answer half of them! Soooo, if you are so inclined, check out the New Youtuber Tag in its entirety down below!

And a sincere thank you to those of you who are supporting me and going on this journey with me as I try something new.

P.S. I apologize if it’s not the most interesting video in the world (linked on tag title), but it’s an intro video! It could only be so fascinating, lol

THE NEW YOUTUBER TAG

  1. What is your name? Yasmin S. Wamala
  2. Where are you from? Maryland born and raised. Every part of MD I’ve lived in is 30 – 40 minutes from each other at the most. Never lived anywhere else til college.
  3. How tall are you? Short, lol. I’m 5’1″.
  4. How many siblings do you have? Twoooo. I have an older stepbrother and a younger (half) brother.
  5. Is this your first channel? Answered in the video. Short answer: Technically yes, but also technically no.
  6. What is your channel about? Answered in the video. Short answer: Lol, good question.
  7. Why should anyone subscribe to your channel? Um. Well, lol. You don’t have to but I would appreciate any and all support as I try something new. I promise I’ll do my best to keep things interesting and if nothing else, I’ll always keep it real. Authenticity for the win!
  8. Where do you see yourself (and your YouTube channel) in 5 years? Oh lord, 5 years? I’ll be 27?! Goodness gracious, let’s see: Career hopefully flourishing. Hopefully happy with my life overall. Love life finally stable, lol. As for YouTube specifically, I don’t know. I literally just started. If it’s still a thing I’m doing, hoping my numbers have grown and my videos have improved and I’m still enjoying it. Also wouldn’t mind getting to the point where I’m making that YouTube shmoney, lol.
  9. What inspired you to start making videos? Answered in the video. Short answer: Watching the YouTubers I’m subscribed to over the years and a love for finding new ways to express myself.
  10. Who are some of your favorite YouTubers? Ahhhhh, I don’t like this question. Ummm, let’s see. Smosh is good for the laughs. I like doddleoddle/doddlevloggle because I relate to a lot of the stuff she talks about and I also genuinely like her music. WilldaBeast Adams‘ dance videos give me life and are goals af. He hasn’t been posting lately cuz he’s busy on BROADWAYYYYY but Todrick Hall never ceases to amaze me. Danisnotonfire is probably my favorite British YouTuber. That’s naming a few, this could go on forever.
  11. What does your username mean? Answered in the video. 
  12. Best thing about YouTube? Answered in the video. Short Answer: Unique social media with something for everyone that makes it possible to connect with a variety of people all over the world.
  13. Worst thing about YouTube? I’ve experienced this from the viewer side and heard endless complaints in videos from the creator side: the YouTube algorithm. They’re always changing it and the most recent change is really screwing people over on both sides. On the viewer side, people are randomly being unsubscribed from channels and not being notified of every video posted by the people they’re subscribed to. On the creator side, it messes with people’s numbers in terms of views and subscribers are how the two match up, which especially sucks for the people who do this for a living.
  14. What are your goals when it comes to YouTube? Honestly, I’m just going through a very interesting time in my life right now and I wanna share my experiences, the good and the bad. I also just want to connect with people while being the most authentic me I can. And of course it would be nice to get my numbers up there, views and subscribers.
  15. Any advice for new YouTubers? Answered in the video. Short answer: No matter what, stay true yourself, keep it real, be authentic.

 

–  No regrets, just love. Love, YSW ❤

