Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?

I have been absolutely blessed with the opportunity to spend all of this month in Rome, expanding my skills as a journalist while exploring somewhere completely foreign and therefore new and exciting to me.

We’ve been here for a little over a week and we have done so much since we got here about 10 days ago. Yet, for whatever reason, it still doesn’t feel real.

DSC00829

It’s honestly so strange, somewhere in my brain, something just is not connecting. I’m still waiting to wake up back in Maryland and find out it’s all been a dream, because there is no way that I truly stood inside the Coliseum or woke up super early to climb up an active volcano that had my head literally in the clouds. But that’s just it, I did. All these things actually happened.

IMG_2089

I can’t even say I understand how I got to this point. Coming on this trip started off as a off-hand, “wouldn’t it be cool if…” suggestion. I was not really being serious when I mentioned this trip to my mom a few months back. When I stepped into that information session, it was completely out of curiosity, nothing more. A meeting I attended in effort to kill some time turned into a dream come true and I don’t think I could be more grateful if I tried.

The best part of all is that this is only the beginning. There’s still so much more to see, explore, and experience: The Vatican, olive oil tasting on the countryside, a gondola ride in Venice.

Even if it doesn’t fully hit me until it’s all over, I cannot wait to take in every single second of it all.

DSC00971

