JRNL 80: Beat Background and Beat Note # 1

Beat Background:

The beat I’m currently trying to cover is Theatre and Arts on Long Island. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to find enough information that I don’t end up spending the semester simply writing reviews of productions and what not. I know that this will not be easy, however this topic interests me enough that I’m willing to put in as much effort as possible to make it work.

Beat Note # 1:

  • Renovation of Suffolk Theatre no longer timely, finished last year
  •  Bay Street Theatre has program called Literature Live! Just starting to work on this year’s piece, To Kill a Mockingbird. Could cover entire process as opposed to just the production.
  • Planning to get in contact with the theaters via phone and/or email to see if there’s anything going on that isn’t online (Press releases aren’t up to date on websites)
